Thinking vs Doing

I am so guilty of trying to write instead of just doing it.  

So many bloggy folks are doing Nanowrimo and I got excited and wanted to join in!  I even told my hubby to do it too!  Well, he got on the case….he actually got writing.  And he doesn’t even want to be a writer….he is a business dude, for goodness sake.  He is in the middle of starting a business.  But yes, he got on the case and frankly, I am jealous that he is writing with abandon.  Not worrying if the right word is on the page, but just getting it all down.  He is going at it like the business guy that he is.  It doesn’t have to be perfect, it just has to be started.  Perfection can wait.  It is a project to be completed for him.  Just like a business.  

Bleeeahhh.

I guess I want to be like that.  I don’t want to worry about each word.  But I am a writer, a worrier, and an over thinker.    I can take a few lessons from him, but in the end, I have to accept that I do it my way, otherwise I just end up getting so disappointed at myself.  I am impressed at how he taps away at the keyboard, words flowing out all over the place.  I can only try to take what I can take from the way he does it, and that is, perfection will have to wait.  Getting it out on the paper can only bring more satisfaction than letting it sit in my head.

Just. Do. It.

Okay, I will.  

Tomorrow.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Thinking vs Doing

  1. I hear you sister! For the last couple of weeks I’ve been planning and thinking about what I was going to write, caught up in the belief that I couldn’t start writing until I had the perfect idea, the perfect characters, the perfect opening line. Then I realized that if I waited for perfect I would never actually write anything! Just start writing – I know you’ll be impressed by what comes next.

    • oh, polka dot princess….you are so good at getting your writing out, though. i so look forward to your blog posts every few days…..i want to be like you when i grow up. make a plan and stick to it! i hope i can get at least a little bit of the the story down this November! Good luck with yours too!

  2. The first thing I did when I decided to pursue writing was to write on my whiteboard in the office: I am a writer and writers write. I know it sounds cheesy, but it helped me to make a habit of sitting down and putting words on paper. Good luck with your writing!

Leave a Reply

